“Sorry. We’re Out of Boba”

Hey everyone! I’m back once again! I hope you have all had time to sit down and just enjoy something delicious. This President’s Day weekend, I was extremely excited because I had made plans with one of my close friends to go on a “mini brunch date.” Unfortunately, it didn’t work out that way. Every boba place we went to that day was out of boba… Of course, no boba, no brunch date. Not that we couldn’t have a brunch date without boba, but we ended up canceling anyway.

Instead I met with my sister and we decided to do was opt out for Korean food from a Korean market, called Choi’s Oriental Market. We went and I ordered bibimbap (비빔밥) which basically means “mixed rice”. Bibimbap is as a bowl  with hot rice topped with sauteed and seasoned vegetables and a fried egg right on top. It also came along with gochujang (고추장), a Korean hot chili pepper paste that can be seen on the top right. On the top left is something similar to a soup of some kind. Honestly, I’m not sure exactly what it’s called, but it contained chopped green onion and something else ( I don’t know what it was) in a light colored broth.

shadowbibimbap_edited

One of the things was that is had a smell that wasn’t bad but it was definitely there. I think it was the broth and the kimchi (김치). Kimchi is fermented vegetables (in my case it was fermented cabbage), a traditional Korean side dish. This was a meal that I almost didn’t want to eat because I knew that once I took my first bite, it would be gone in no time at all.   beforemixbibimbap_edited

Right above is my meal in its unpacked entirety. I had to take a picture before I mixed it up because soon the colorful dish would blend.

pouringgochujang_edited

But, before I could eat it, I had to pour in the chili pepper paste to give it a hint of spiciness. Finally, after mixing it all together I was able to eat it. Boy was it good! The sauteed vegetables still had a slight crunch to them and this gave the dish good texture. The meat and the eggs both collided for a friendly taste. The whole dish was very filling. Although it looks like it’ll be “just enough” it’s more than enough… TRUST ME.

closeupbibimbap_edited

I would rate this dish a 9/10 just because personally I would have preferred it to have a bit more vegetables. I would also suggest if you ever happen to skip lunch and are really hungry by evening time, definitely get this dish if you are in the mood for something flavorful.

If you’ve ever tried a Korean dish let me know in the comments! What was it?

Leave a Reply

